Frequently Asked Questions:

How will I be able to keep up with the firearm laws and their changes AFTER the class?

Great question.  We have set up a newsletter that will list the changes and how those changes will affect you.  You can sign up here.

Why is this class required to apply for the conceal carry permit?

North Carolina State law requires everyone who
wants to apply for a CCH permit to take this class.
The class is on the laws of Deadly Force in NC and
firearm safety.



How old must I be to attend the Concealed Carry Handgun Class?

You must be at least 20 years old to take the class.  However you CANNOT apply for your permit until you are 21.

I am in the military, can I get my concealed carry permit?


Depends.  Contact your local Sheriff's Dept and pick up the special military package. If you live in the barracks you will need to ask the sheriff if there are additional forms. 

There are special military requirements regarding your Drivers licenses also.



Does it make a difference if I live in a different county than where the class is located?

NO.  The class is good for all 100 countries in North Carolina; it makes no difference what county you live in as long as you live in NC.

 

What time will the class start?

The ALL Day classes start at 8:00 AM.
The Evening classes start at 7:00 PM.
Classroom opens 30 minutes before class.



Where is the class located?

The classes listed on the calendar are held at

1600 Heritage Commerce Ct, Ste 101
Wake Forest, NC 27587-4245

Once we receive registration and payment, we email directions and instructions.

Note: We also move the classes for special group class like at a Church or someone's home or business.

Where will we go to shoot?

We will go to a beautiful outdoor private range...no one is there shooting but our concealed carry handgun class. It is located about 3 miles from the classroom.



Will we still shoot if there is bad weather the day of the class?

With an outdoor range this will depend on the situation.  If it is thundering and lighting during the entire class we may have to reschedule.  For light rain we use a pop up tent.  If we have to reschedule, we will try and make this as convenient as we can for everyone.  We can shoot individually or as a group.

What type of target will I be shooting at?

North Carolina has requirements on what type of targets that can and can not be used, we use the silhouette IDPA with an 8 inch bull's eye target in the center chest cavity and it is an approved target.



What distances will I be shooting?

North Carolina requires a minimum of 30 rounds being fired for 3, 5 & 7 yards. We require 40 rounds with 10 rounds fired at 3 yards; 15 rounds fired at 5 yards; and 15 rounds fired at 7 yards. North Carolina also requires 28 rounds MUST BE on the bull's eye target.

What happens if I failed to get 28 rounds on the bull's eye target?

We include 2 targets in the price of our class should you fail to get the required 28 rounds on the bull's eye target on your first try. You can go practice somewhere else and return to shoot your second target...at no extra charge. Should you fail after the second attempt we will then suggest you take our Firearms Orientation - One On One Training.



What happens if I failed the written legal examination?

North Carolina requires that the legal block of instruction must be a minimum of two hours in length. We spend between 3 1/2 hours to 4 hours on the legal block. We feel that you must know when you have the right to use deadly force, where you can and cannot carry a concealed firearm and much more. Most of our students pass the written exam with a grade of 95 or 100.

We cover the legal area from several different angles to help you learn the material, using various techniques. Our goal is to help you understand the legal information and we will work with you until you not only know the legal information but that you also pass the required legal examination...at no extra charge.

How long is the class?

North Carolina requires that course must be a minimum of eight hours long plus the range and qualification time. The All Day class starts at 8:00 AM and will go for 4 hours, and then we go to the range, once we return we start the next 4 hours or until we cover all the material. Most All Day classes are done by 6:30 PM, so the classes are around 10 hours.

After the introductions, the first part of the class will cover the use of deadly force, when you can and more importantly when you can't use deadly force, places where you can carry your firearm and places you can't. All morning we will be talking about laws, and carrying firearm responsibilities. Firearm and range safety issues after that we go to the range to qualify with your firearm.

After we return from range, you eat while we start more legal instructions, firearm maintenance, storing, concealing and shooting techniques, and non lethal force. We have a Gunsmith that is teaching the firearm maintenance and he reveals which products to use and which not to use and why. We end with the written legal exam.

NOTE: The Evening class covers all the same items listed above, but we have to adjust the timing and range time for it.



Will I need to get anything before class to study?

No, books and information will be given to you on the day of the class, you will watch DVD's and listen to us most of the day. We use real life examples to help you relate to the material. We laugh a lot and we welcome ALL of your questions. We address the myths that you had heard all your life and what the realities of using deadly force really are.

Do I bring my gun into the classroom?

NO loaded firearm is allowed in any classroom. You are to UNLOAD all clips and firearms and bring your UNLOADED firearm and ammunition to our table set up at the classroom door. Why?

We Reserve The Right To Inspect All Firearms For Safety And Proper Operation Prior To Their Use.

Safety! Our Gunsmith will be inspecting your firearm to verify that it is safe to be used on our range. He will also be checking to verify that you have purchased the correct rounds for your gun.

Note: Look and write down what the manufacturer suggest for your handgun. DO NOT purchase +P [which stands for "plus pressure" or "increased pressure"] unless you are accustomed to shooting +P in your handgun and your handgun states it will handle +P. Our Gunsmith wants you to know that there are two downsides to using +P bullets. 1. You will have MORE recoil than the standard bullet. 2. It will wear out your handgun sooner due to the extra pressure. Pressure is what wears out your handgun.

You will be requested to place your name on your ammunition box. We hold onto your box of ammunition until it is time for you to qualify. Your firearm will be placed on our table until time to go to the range. We are also checking for reloads...we do not allow reloads on our range.




I have never picked up a firearm; do I need to practice with one before I come to your class?

Yes, we will go over the correct way to hold, aim, and shoot a firearm keeping safety always as our main goal. Note: this question posted earlier...

What happens if I failed to get 28 rounds on the bull's eye target?

We include 2 targets in the price of our class should you fail to get the required 28 rounds on the bull's eye target on your first try.  You can go practice somewhere else and return to shoot your second target...at no extra charge.  Should you fail after the second attempt we will then suggest you take our Firearms Orientation - One On One Training. 

What about lunch, bathroom and smoke breaks?

You eat lunch when you return from the range while we teach...this saves time. We have toaster oven and refrigerator that our students can use. You must bring your bag lunch with you.

Bathroom breaks...we take several breaks and if you must go just get up and go.

Smoker's breaks are at the same time that we take our bathroom breaks. We provide a container with sand outside the classroom for cigarette butts.


Do I need to have a permit before I take the class?

No, you do not need a gun permit before taking this class.

Do I need to have a firearm before class?

No, if you do not have a firearm you can use ours to qualify with, there is a charge for the firearm and us having to clean the firearm afterwards.

Ammo will need to be purchased prior to class.




I know someone who has a firearm I can use, is this ok?

Yes, that's fine if you know someone who has a firearm that will let you use it for the class.  You need to let them show you how to load and unload safely and how the firearm operates. 

Can my wife and I share the same firearm for this class?

Yes, that's fine. Just be sure we are aware that is your plan so we do not put both of you up at the firing line at the same time.



How do I transport my firearm to the class?

Anytime you have a firearm in the vehicle and you don't have a concealed carry permit, you must open carry or unload the gun and lock it in your truck or in a locked container in the rear of your car if you don't have a trunk.  Open carry means that your firearm must be visible to the public [placed on your passenger seat in plain view is the best option.]

What do I need the day of the class?

You will need to bring your firearm unless you are to use ours, a box of 50 rounds of NEW  (NO RE-LOADS)  ammunition that must match the caliber of your firearm, and hearing protection and eye safety glasses. 

NOTE:  Some types of ammunition is in short supply.  Please do not wait to the last minute to obtain your ammo.

Hat or cap with brim (to deflect hot spent shells and prevent them from getting between your safety glasses and eyes).



I'm not sure I can get a CCW permit, how can I find out?

First Be Sure you Can Answer these Sheriff's Questions? Next see the NC Firearm Laws appendix for disqualifying offenses.  You can also apply for a pistol permit at a cost of $5.00 before you start spending a lot of money on something you may or may not be able to use.  You may also want to call an attorney and meet with them if you're still not sure.  If you are a felon or have any record of violence you should contact your attorney before taking this class.

NOTE: "A convicted felon cannot receive it, possess it, buy it, store it, hold it, shoot it, aim it, clean it, or do anything with it." (Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives)

Is there a caliber or gun restriction when qualifying for Concealed Carry?

No, however we do not allow 22 calibers. 


Why do you require people to pay for the class in advance?

When you register for a class we make a certificate in your name, this certificate has a embossed seal and can not be reused, and not to mention the paper work it takes to register you.

Also we only offer 12 seats to our class, so we want to be sure that we fill them.

THIS IS WHY THERE ARE NO REFUNDS!

If the class is canceled. What happens?

We try not to cancel a class if we have 5 or more, if for some reason the class was cancel due to sickness or something, the next class would be scheduled and everyone would come to that one.



What do you provide?

We provide 2 certified instructors (husband and wife team)instruction, North Carolina Justice Academy Concealed Carry Handgun Training booklet, Embossed seal certificate, IDPA silhouette target, Instruction Props, Handouts and Range Fees.

If you need to use our firearm to qualify with there is an additional charge.  Ammo is not included in the rental of the firearm.

When do I receive the certificate from you?

You will get the certificate after you have completed the classroom work, taken the written legal exam, qualified with your firearm. Sometimes we order certificates from the state and do not get them back until after the class, if this happens we will call you to either pick it up or we will mail it to you.



How much time do I have to take the certificate to the sheriff's dept?

North Carolina does not have an expiration date from the time you have completed the class, however that will depend on your sheriff.  We have received information that some sheriff will not accept it after 90 days while others 12 months.  We had one sheriff that accepted one certificate that was 4 years old.

Why is your class so inexpensive when other classes are $175 and up?

We love teaching this class and we firmly believe that you need to know your rights and that the more law-abiding citizens who carry a firearm responsibly will make us all a little safer. The price is only to cover our overhead cost of you getting your conceal carry permit class certification, it pays for 2 certified instructors (husband and wife team)instruction, North Carolina Justice Academy Concealed Carry Handgun Training booklet, Embossed seal certificate, IDPA silhouette target, Instruction Props, Handouts and Range Fees.





Is this all I need to carry a firearm?

NO, you must go to the sheriff's department of the county you live in, complete the paperwork, pay for the application, your finger prints and photo will be taken, then after about 8 weeks or so the sheriff department will call you to pick up your permit in person.  DO NOT CARRY A FIREARM CONCEALED UNTIL YOU GET YOUR PERMIT FROM THE SHERIFF'S DEPARTMENT!

What is the CCW fee at the sheriff's dept?

Approx. $90.00 the 1st time...this covers the application and finger prints. Be sure to call your local sheriff for the exact cost.

Approx. $85.00 to renew. Permits are good for 5 years and then they have to be renewed. Be sure to call your local sheriff for the exact cost.



I've been in the military; do I need anything from them when I apply for the CCW?

Yes, if you have been in the military you will need to take a DD-214 with you when you go to the sheriff's department to apply for your permit.

How long does it take to get the CCW back from the sheriff's dept?

By NC Law they must give you an answer within 90 days after all material has been received, most of the time you'll get them back in about 8 weeks or less depending on how busy they are.



After I receive my CCW permit from the Sheriff's department, do I need to buy any more gun permits?

NO, as long as you keep your concealed carry permit current you will not need to buy a gun permit to purchase a firearm.  Also, there are no restrictions to the number of firearms you can purchase.

If I pay for the class but unable to come do I lose my money?

No, anyone who has registered and paid for a class can come anytime we have an extra space available.
We have several people who have paid but have been unable to attend, if this should happen to you, all you need to do is call us and let us know when you're coming so we can plan a space for you. Classes are non transferable.



If my permit has expired, do I need to pay for the class again?

Yes, you will need to take the class again and receive a certificate with an embossed seal and wait for everything to come back again to get your CCW card.  It's just like going for the 1st time.

If I have lost my permit do I have to notify anyone?

Yes, you must notify the sheriff's dept. You can get a notarized statement to carry with you until its time to renew.



If I move do I need to notify anyone?

Yes, you must notify the sheriff's dept within 30 days.

Lost Certificate!

Part of the cost of the class is for your certificate and they do cost, we have to look up your old certificate and void out the number then issue a new one, record the replacement and mail it. So unfortunately we have to charge for the certificate and for all the hassle, sorry. You will need to complete the online registration form and then go to the bottom of that page and you will see the lost certificate area. Once we receive your information and payment we will mail it to the address listed unless you have moved, then we will call you on the phone you provided when you took the class for security purpose. Click here for the registration page.



How many people do you need to hold a private class?

To hold a special class you need at least 10 people, to get the lower rate you need at least 15, and this is within 50 mile radius from Rolesville, NC.  Please call for any dates you may have in mind and go over class location and shooting range.

Class award when you get 6 others to sign up and prepay online and attend our regular scheduled class...Ask about the award.

I am a retired law enforcement officer, how do I get covered under the H.R. 218 law?

Under this law you will need to make an application to the NC Justice Academy, P. O. Box 99, Salemburg, NC 28385-0099 Phone (910) 5254151, make contact with the local law enforcement agency to be certified by their firearm's instructor. Concealed Carry instructors can not certify you. You can go through the class for conceal carry but you will be restricted just like the rest of law abiding citizens of North Carolina.

H.R. 218 is the law. However, N.C. hasn't finalized any regulations on what a LE officer has to do to comply with the law. The main thing is they have to qualify each year on the Basic Law Enforcement Training (BLET) qualification course of fire. They don't have to take a course but the qualification is problematic - most LE agencies aren't excited about doing qualifications for retired LEOs.

More information is on the NC Department of Justice website at www.ncdoj.com.



Contact information for Counties near by:

Please, call before you go!  Don't just show up!

Wake County Sheriff's Dept

919-856-6900

Applications are taken M/F 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM

Finger Prints are taken M/F 8:30 AM to 11:30 AM
                                      1:00 PM to 4:00 PM

Your correct address MUST be on your ID

Accept check or cash.

330 South Salisbury Street
2nd Floor, Room 274
Raleigh, NC  27602

www.wakegov.com/sheriff/

Franklin County Sheriff's Dept

919-496-2186

Applications are taken M/F 8:30 AM to 11:30 AM
                                      1:30 PM to 4:00 PM

Finger Prints are taken M/F 8:30 AM to 11:30 AM
                                      1:00 PM to 4:00 PM

Your correct address MUST be on your ID

Accept check or cash.

285 T. Kemp Rd
Louisburg, NC  27549

www.co.franklin.nc.us/sheriff/

Durham County Sheriff's Dept

919-560-0897

Applications are taken M/F 9:00 AM to 4:00 PM

Finger Prints are taken M/F 9:00 AM to 4:00 AM

Your correct address MUST be on your ID

Accept cash only.

201 E. Main Street, 1st Floor
Durham, NC  27701

www.co.durham.nc.us/shrf

Orange County Sheriff's Dept

919-644-3050

Applications are taken M/F 8:00 AM to 12:30 PM
                                      2:00 PM to 3:00 PM

Finger Prints are taken M/F 8:00 AM to 12:30 AM
                                      2:00 PM to 3:00 PM

Your correct address MUST be on your ID

Bring copy of your Security Card & NC Drivers License

Accept cash only.

106 E. Margaret Land
Hillsborough, NC  27278

www.co.orange.nc.us/sheriff

Johnston County Sheriff's Dept

919-989-5010

120 S. Third Street
Smithfield, NC  27577

www.jcso.org

Vance County Sheriff's Dept

252-738-2200

Detention Center
Henderson, NC  27536

Granville County Sheriff's Dept

919-693-3213

Applications are taken T & T 10:00 AM to 1:00 PM
                                          1:30 PM to 4:30 PM

Finger Prints are taken T & T 10:00 AM to 1:00 PM
                                          1:30 PM to 4:30 PM

Your correct address MUST be on your ID

Accept check or cash.

143 Williamsboro Street
Oxford, NC  27565

Person County Sheriff's Dept

336-597-0500

Applications and Finger Prints are by appointments only. 

Your correct address MUST be on your ID

Accept check or cash.

120 Court Street
Roxboro, NC  27573

www.personcounty.net/

Nash County Sheriff's Dept

252-459-1556

222 W. Washington Street
Nashville, NC  27856

www.sheriff.co.nash.nc.us/

Chatham County Sheriff's Dept

919-545-8122

295 West Street
Pittsboro, NC  27312

www.chathamsheriff.com

Alamance County Sheriff's Dept

336-570-6311

Applications are taken M/F 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM

Finger Prints are taken M/F 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM

Your correct address MUST be on your ID

Accept cash only.

109 South Maple St.
Graham, NC  27253

www.alamance-nc.com/d/sheriffs-office.html

Warren County Sheriff's Dept

252-257-3364

132 Rafters Lane
Warrenton, NC  27589

www.warrencountync.com/Sheriff.aspx

Edgecombe County Sheriff's Dept

252-641-7914

3005 Anaconda Rd
Tarboro, NC  27886

www.edgecombecountync.gov/sheriff.aspx

Cumberland County Sheriff's Dept

910-677-5410

Applications are taken M/F 8:00 AM to 11:30 AM

Finger Prints are taken M/F 8:00 AM to 11:30 AM

Your correct address MUST be on your ID

Bring copy of Security Card.

Accept cash or Money Order.

131 Dick St.
Fayetteville, NC  28301

www.ccsonc.org

Onslow County Sheriff's Dept

910-455-3113

Applications are taken W 1:30 PM to 4:30 PM
                         Th & F  12:00 PM to 8:00 PM

Finger Prints are taken W 1:30 PM to 4:30 PM
                          Th & F 12:00 PM to 8:00 PM

Your correct address MUST be on your ID

Accept cash or money order.

701 Mill Avenue
Jacksonville, NC  28540

http://sheriff.onslowcountync.gov/

 

State Survey, common questions they will ask you?

We have been asked from time to time what type of targets did we use and some other questions that is on a new state survey you will be asked to fill out when you apply for your CCW permit. Some people may wait 3 Months or more before they apply for the permit and they don't always remember everything. 1st, BE HONEST! The state needs to hear feed back from you so they know the kind of instructors they have teaching for them. But as to some of the things we use we have listed them here.


 


“This class was very informational. I think before citizens are able to purchase a firearm they should be required to take this class. By being in this class I was able to learn my rights as a firearm owning citizen.

The class was perfect, it included an instructional video and there was material available for hands on learning. The instructors were very involved and really cared that you were able to understand the materials covered in the classroom. The instructors used real life scenarios that helped class retain material.”
Rodney Reddick

“This class is a very good class. It help me learn a lot of stuff, like safely. I feel good about this class.”
Shane Howell

“This class is great for the understanding and confidence in using a handgun. The instruction of the class helps you determine when and what you need to do in case any situation arises. As far as things to do better for the class, I would say keep everything the same. All points were explained as needed and were given opportunity to ask and get questions answered.”
Anthony Floyd
AnthonyFloyd@
Allstate.com