NC Concealed Carry Handgun Class
Thank you for your interest in obtaining your NC Conceal Carry Handgun Permit.
The Concealed Carry course that an individual attends must meet several minimum standards as set forth by the
North Carolina Administrative Code.
Those requirements are:
- Course must be a minimum of eight hours long plus the range and qualification time.
- The legal block of instruction must be a minimum of two hours in length.
- A written legal examination is required.
- A shooting proficiency examination is required. The course of fire must be a minimum of 30 rounds
with 10 rounds fired from the three yard line, 10 rounds fired from the five yard line, and 10 rounds fired
from the seven yard line on a silhouette target.
- The Concealed Carry course must cover the following topics or it does not meet the minimum state
- Legal Issues - Handgun Safety – Handguns - Marksmanship Fundamentals
- Carrying Concealed Safety Issues - Presentation Techniques
- Cleaning and Maintenance – Ammunition - Proficiency Drills
The class is set up to meet ALL requirements. Range Proficiency is dependent on your prior shooting
ability. Briefly describe your shooting experience with handguns this will let you know if you can take the
Concealed Carry Class.
How long have your been shooting them?____________________________________
How often you shoot them? ________________________________
How many rounds you have fired in the past six months?________________________
"This class was excellent. I was provided a comfortable
learning environment in a small class setting where myself as well as others could ask
questions and not feel out of place.
They were very thoughtful and I recommend this class to anyone from novice to expert."
Joshua T. Raney
-- For Students With NO Prior Firearm Experience. --
NOTE: We charge $130 per person for firearm
orientation class that is designed to provide a hands-on introduction to the safe handling and
proper orientation of one specific firearm model. You will need to bring 200 rounds of
ammunition for your handgun and this class must be completed before you can receive your NC
Concealed Carry Handgun Class Certificate and range prequalification.
!!! Be Sure You Can Answer these Sheriff's Questions
In order to obtain a Concealed Carry Handgun permit you must apply to the Sheriff’s Office within your county of
residence. The Sheriff shall issue a permit to you if you qualify under the following criteria according to
North Carolina General Stature 14-415.12. The following questions are part of the Sheriff’s Questions that
will keep you from receiving your concealed carry handgun permit. We
are asking the same questions so you do not waste your money:
- I am a citizen of the United States and a resident of the State of NC?
- I am 21 years of age or older?
- I do not suffer from any mental infirmity that prevents safe handling of a handgun?
- I am eligible to own or possess or receive a firearm under the provisions of state or
- I am not under indictment or against whom a finding of probable cause exist for a
- I have not been adjudicated guilty of a felony?
- I am not an unlawful user, or addicted to marijuana, alcohol, or any depressant,
stimulant, or narcotic drug, or any other controlled or uncontrolled substance?
- I have not been discharged from the armed forces under less than honorable